ON A PLEASANT CLIMATE AS A CIVIL RIGHT

thelivyjr
Site Admin

ON A PLEASANT CLIMATE AS A CIVIL RIGHT

Post by thelivyjr »

THE CAPE CHARLES MIRROR December 22, 2019

An Open Letter to our Representatives on Climate Change

This letter was sent to our local elected officials by student Nick Gomer. Nick grew up in Cape Charles and is currently in his final year at the University of Virginia pursuing a degree in Global Environments and Sustainability.

Senator Lewis and Representative Bloxom,

I write to you to encourage the swift creation and support of stringent environmental legislation in the upcoming general assembly.

I am a graduate of Broadwater Academy and soon-to-be graduate of the University of Virginia with a degree in environmental sustainability.

In my time as a student I have extensively studied climate change and the severe impacts of this problem ranging from mass species extinction to dramatic sea-level rise to widespread food and water shortages.

I have also studied how many of these problems will disproportionately affect those who have done the least to create climate change, namely low-income people and people of color.

Meanwhile, in my time as a resident of Cape Charles I have directly seen the effects of our environmental degradation occur as our town floods more and more often and as the barrier islands are increasingly washed away by each passing storm.

Mitigating climate change, however, is not a matter of individual responsibility.

Rather, ensuring an environmentally-inhabitable future will be the result of sweeping reforms that must happen at a systematic level.

Virginia’s impending entry to the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative will be taken as good news, yet still it will be a day late and a dollar short.

The Virginia legislature must act boldly to be a voice of regional environmental leadership to fill the total void of federal environmental leadership.